Rosemary-Orange-Lemon-Curd Slice

In the final hours before our holiday party, I didn’t want to be doing more than popping corn and putting on my mascara. I decided against making the Rosemary-Lemon Tartlets with Pine Nut Shortbread called for in DeSerio’s Sweets and Sparklers menu because of the requirement that they be assembled shortly before the party.

I instead made my White Chocolate Bark with Blueberries, Pine Nuts and a Zest of Lemon a week ahead and stored it in the fridge until party time.

Then, two days before the party while tying on my apron to embark on my version of The Joy of Cooking Angel Slice, my eyes drifted and I spotted a recipe for seemingly simple Lemon Curd Bars, “Yay! An easy way to try out the rosemary lemon curd idea. And I’m in baking-mode already so why not?”

But I only had two lemons. Actually, there were some lemons on the tree outside but you may recall from here that they are not exactly tasty ones.

Thinking of my yucky lemons led my mind to my two trees bursting with oranges…

 

 

 

 

 

 

and Rosemary-Orange-Lemon-Curd Slice was born!

Here it is: a tangy-sweet amalgamation of Joy of Cooking‘s Lemon Curd Bars (page 765), Tasha DeSerio‘s Rosemary-Lemon Tartlets (from Fine Cooking magazine’s Dec 2010/Jan 2011 issue) and my backyard oranges.

For the crust:

  • 1.5 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup confectioners sugar (a.k.a. icing sugar and powdered sugar)
  • a pinch of salt
  • 3/4 cup cold unsalted butter

For the filling:

  • 6 large eggs
  • 2.5 cups granulated sugar
  • 1 tbsp very finely chopped fresh rosemary leaves
  • the zest of 1 lemon
  • 1/2 cup fresh squeezed lemon juice (from about 2-3 lemons)
  • 1/2 cup fresh squeezed orange juice (5 of my small tree oranges, 1-2 larger oranges)
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour

Preheat oven to 325F.

To make the crust:

In a medium bowl whisk together the flour, confectioners sugar and the pinch of salt.

Using the large grating holes of a box grater, grate in the cold butter. Stir it together with a fork (or pastry blender or fingertips) to distribute shavings of butter evenly.

Press dough into the bottom of an ungreased 13×9 inch pan.

Bake until golden brown, 25-30 minutes. Transfer pan to rack.

Reduce oven temperature to 300F. Let the crust cool as you make the filling.

To make the filling:

In a large bowl whisk together the eggs and the granulated sugar. Stir in the rosemary, lemon zest, lemon juice and orange juice.

Over the top of the egg mixture sift the all-purpose flour. Stir until well blended.

Pour the filling over the cooled crust.

Bake until the filling is set, about 35 minutes.

Cool in the pan on a rack.

Refrigerate for up to 48 hours before slicing into 32 rectangles (4 even cuts lengthwise and 8 cuts width-wise.

Settle in to wait for the ball to drop as you savor this sweet bit of tang and sip on a fluteful of prosecco.

Check out my other recipes that were inspired by Fine Cooking’s Sweets and Sparklers menu: Salted Pineapple Pecan Angel Slice, White Chocolate Bark with Blueberries, Pine Nuts and a Zest of Lemon, Spicy Maple Cashews, and Cranberry Ginger Brie.

Also have a look at my reviews of some of the items from the Sweets and Sparklers menu: my review of Popcorn with Sweet Butter and Sea Salt, my review of Apple, Fennel and Cheddar Cheese Straws, my review of Bittersweet Chocolate Bark with Marcona Almonds).

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Phyllis on December 30, 2010 - 3:09 pm

    Sounds like the recipe I have for lemon bars but never thought to add spices to make them savory. Yum.

  1. Sparkling Wine, a Brilliant Friend and Groovy Strawberries « Cook the Story
  2. What curveball will you catch (or drop!) at your holiday party? « Cook the Story
  3. Planning a New Year’s Eve Party? Here’s My Review of Fine Cooking’s Sweets and Sparklers Menu « Cook the Story
  4. New Year’s Eve Spicy Maple Cashews « Cook the Story
  5. New Year’s Eve Cranberry-Ginger Brie « Cook the Story

Leave a Reply

