How Zumba and P!nk Changed My New Year’s Resolution

On the morning of January 1st, head throbbing and heart jittering with caffeine, I skulked into my first Zumba class of 2011. I felt like crap so why was I there?

My New Year’s resolution was to exercise more, eat healthier, eat less, blah, blah, blah. I wanted to kick it off with a workout to punish away the evils of December 31st and the 2 weeks that preceded it  (evils being too much cheese, chocolate and sparkling wine).

The few zumba-ers who’d shown up whispered to each other (Duh. I wonder why???) and I wished I’d stayed in bed (not really an option because of my toddler. But cartoons on the couch would have been just fine).

Our instructor cued up the tunes and started to wiggle her butt. We joined in (a bit more awkwardly and slowly than usual though).

Moments later I glanced at the mirror and saw myself smiling. I saw everybody smiling. And I saw everybody’s smile grow as P!nk‘s Raise Your Glass began to pound in our chests.

We shook our hips.

We pivoted.

We jumped.

We sang.

We  laughed out loud to the line, “Oh sh*t, my glass is empty. That sucks!”

And somewhere mid-jump, I realized what a blast I was having…at an exercise class. How weird.

And with the next pivot I remembered discovering many of my favorite foods on the Bon Appetit Food-Lover’s Cleanse list of Foods to Focus On.

And as I shouted, “Raise your glass if you are wrong, in all the right ways”  I flashed back on this post by Laurrie Perry (Crazy Aunt Purl) about decriminalizing food.

And with a final hip-shake my New Year’s resolution shifted from:

This year I will exercise more, eat healthier, eat less, blah, blah, blah

to:

This year I will do things that are good for me because they feel good.

This might just be the first New Year’s resolution that I have a shot at keeping!

Check out these Zumba-inspired recipes that make me feel good because they’re simultaneously healthy and comforting:

  • Mexican Holubtsi (a.k.a. cabbage rolls). Yes…seriously. But it’s not what you think. This is a filling of rice and ground turkey spiked with heat and topped with fresh flavors rolled into a crisp cold napa cabbage leaf and eaten fajita-style.
, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Lori on January 7, 2011 - 3:23 pm

    This is a really fun article! Can you share any other class pictures? If so, please send a link or a file.

    Zumba Love!

  2. #2 by cookthestory on January 7, 2011 - 3:49 pm

    Thank you! So happy you like the post :).

    I’ve put some pictures of our Zumba class up on my blog’s facebook page. Go here: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cook-the-Story/122910574437210 (click Like if you like the page/blog) then click Photos. You should be able to see them even if you are not on Facebook.

    Zumba Love back atcha!!!

  3. #3 by patricia on January 7, 2011 - 5:48 pm

    Only my black shoes show, so all is well. I wish you success for your resolutions, especially about feeling GOOD!

  4. #4 by cookthestory on January 7, 2011 - 7:29 pm

    lol Patricia,

    I did take a lot of feet shots so that people wouldn’t be worried about their faces and their workout bodies being out in the ether.

    Thank you for your good wishes,
    Chris

  1. When a Coupon isn’t a Coupon at all « Cook the Story
  2. “Oh Sh*t, My Bowl is Empty. That Sucks!” Soup « Cook the Story
  3. Mexican-Ukrainian Fusion??? « Cook the Story
  4. When a Coupon isn't a Coupon at All - Cook the Story

Leave a Reply

