When Does Food Taste THE BEST? Part 1: So Good

Me this weekend: Lips trembling as I mumble (kind of stupidly), “mmmm…yummy…want more now.” Everything I ate made my mouth (and stomach) beg for another bite.

From the snack of smoked sausage eaten while watching the waves (Bee Gees singing in the background, toddler zooming a convertible on the tile floor, mom stirring a cassoulet in the kitchen as I plunge the last bit of sausage into gooping yellow mustard) to the steel cut oats with melting brown sugar cooled slightly by frozen wild blueberries all stirred together and then slugged back with strong coffee as we debated where to play an early round of golf, everything sent me into a drooling stupor.

Lurking deeper, my brain kept asking, “WHY is it so good?”

Why did the food at my parent’s Florida Coast condo make me crave more even while I was beyond stuffed?

When you’re on holiday, cooking and eating with family and friends, everything seems to wear a glowing hallow, even the most mundane food. Why? Shouldn’t it taste the same no matter where you are or who you’re with?

This week I’ll be describing the meals we had on the coast and sharing my theories about why they were so memorable. As I theorize, feel free to add your own hypotheses about why foods cooked and eaten with loved ones (especially in a fantastic setting) seem to taste better than foods eaten alone at home.

______________________________________________________

Check out the other posts in the series When Does Food Taste THE BEST?

Part 2: The Mystery of the Chicken Sandwich

Part 3: Firstovers

Part 4: Party’s in the Kitchen

Part 5: When Someone Else Does the Cooking

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Rachel on January 17, 2011 - 9:14 am

    I think one part of it is that “fresh sea air” thing. My folks “wintered” in Sarasota for quite a few years in some rental apartment or other, usually on one of the keys. I always felt hungrier than usual after a day at the beach, even if I hadn’t moved from my sheltered chair due to winter (Florida winter, but still winter!) winds and blowing sand. Then of course, there’s the “Mom made this” factor… mmmmm!

  2. #2 by cookthestory on January 17, 2011 - 9:35 am

    I think we’re on the same wavelength for sure! Exercise, sea air, wind, sun and, of course, mom.

  1. The Mystery of the Chicken Sandwich: When does Food Taste THE BEST? Part 2 « Cook the Story
  2. When Does Food Taste THE BEST? Part 3: Firstovers « Cook the Story

Leave a Reply

