What My Husband Hates

On February 1st a post I’ve written is appearing on Scary Mommy‘s Scary Mommy Society. This week, in honor of the society, I’m featuring stories and recipes for all my scary parenting friends.

Multiple Choice Question: What do you do when your parenting partner goes out of town?

a) Beg for mercy.

b) Ask your mom to visit.

c) Make it easy on yourself and allow a few days of continuous cartoon-watching.

d) Invite friends over for the evenings: You supply the wine, they supply conversations that do not include the words mommy, poo poo or Idon’twantto.

e) Make pasta with olives, shrimp and feta served on a tangle of arugula.

Yes, (e). Of course (e)!

When my hubs, G, goes out of town I eat. Specifically, I eat foods that G hates. If 33% of the household won’t eat it, what’s the point of making it? But when he leaves, FREEDOM!

I immediately hit the store for the contraband. Once J is (finally) in bed, I:

  • get an episode of Glee set up. When dinner’s ready, I can eat and watch knowing that if Mr. Schuester raps all night, nobody in my house will roll their eyes. (And, when Puck‘s in view, nobody’s there to ask about the drool on my chin).
  • mix up a French Martini. (It’s pink and it’s all mine, not that he would have wanted any of that girlie stuff).

(Note: The above is merely my plan for when G is away. Usually I end up eating J’s leftover Kraft Dinner for supper. But having the plan gets me through the day. And really, being too tired to execute the plan is what makes me appreciate my sweetie when he gets home.)

Here’s the recipe for What My Husband Hates: Shrimp, Feta and Olive Pasta on a Tangle of Arugula.

 

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Phyllis on January 24, 2011 - 7:03 pm

    ah hahahahahahahah. That was hilarious. My chuckle for the day. Thank you.

  2. #3 by The Mrs on January 24, 2011 - 8:14 pm

    *Snort*

    I look forward to those rare evenings alone, when I can eat what I want (cilantro), do what I want (read), and watch what I want on tv (nothing).

    I end up blogging too late, eating popcorn in bed, reading way past my natural bedtime, and going to sleep cold and lonely.

    And I’m always so happy to see Mr in the morning (if I don’t wake up when he comes home) that it’s probably why he goes out in the first place.

    • #4 by cookthestory on January 24, 2011 - 8:36 pm

      Your evening on your own sounds sublime, except for the cold and lonely part. I certainly do find the bed cold when G’s away as well. And, I have trouble getting to sleep. He says that he sleeps WAY better when away though. He’s never said why but I suspect it has to do with the fact that my method for getting sleepy is to talk to him until my lips get tired and I pass out.

  3. #5 by Dani on January 24, 2011 - 9:04 pm

    Awesome. I listen to country music, watch the new 90210, and eat nothing but potatoes for dinner.

    • #6 by cookthestory on January 25, 2011 - 7:07 am

      Oooo! That sounds perfect! Potatoes for dinner? How do you cook them? Is it as simple as microwaved/baked with sour cream or is it the potato version of the Amateur Gourmet’s “Cheese for Dinner”? http://www.amateurgourmet.com/2011/01/the_return_of_cheese_for_dinner_with_hei_1.html

      • #7 by Dani on January 25, 2011 - 9:30 pm

        I don’t think it’s WordPress exactly, but the theme you’re using. Maybe try a different one if you feel up to making the switch.

        Erm, I can’t seem to get a reply box in the right place for this, but… I wouldn’t worry too much about your toddler and potatoes. It might just be a texture thing that will go away.

        • #8 by cookthestory on January 26, 2011 - 6:43 am

          Yeah, it seems to be the theme. On a positive note, I’ve figured out how to get it to allow more reply-embedding for comments.

          I’ll cross my fingers about the potatoes!

    • #9 by The Mrs on January 25, 2011 - 12:55 pm

      Oh no! That’s Mr’s method of getting to sleep! Booooo! Bedtime Talkers!

      • #10 by The Mrs on January 25, 2011 - 12:56 pm

        Ooops. Technical problems (by me).

      • #11 by cookthestory on January 25, 2011 - 1:10 pm

        No worries about the tech problem. I keep doing the same thing. I can’t figure out how to make it more user-friendly though. Suggestions?

      • #12 by The Mrs on January 25, 2011 - 8:18 pm

        Me and WordPress aren’t friends. I don’t think it’s a big enough problem to stop us from commenting…

  4. #13 by Dani on January 25, 2011 - 8:04 am

    I usually oven roast them with a little olive oil and garlic until they’re nice and crispy. My husband will eat potatoes, grudgingly (after many years of not eating them at all) but he really does not like them enough to make a whole meal of them.

    • #14 by cookthestory on January 25, 2011 - 9:52 am

      He doesn’t like potatoes? That worries me. My toddler doesn’t like them very much. I keep expecting that he’ll grow out of it because everyone likes potatoes, right? But maybe not. Uh-oh.

  1. What My Husband Hates: Shrimp, Feta and Olive Pasta on a Tangle of Arugula « Cook the Story
  2. Blueberry Pancake Oatmeal for the Morning After « Cook the Story
  3. Make Dinner Wait for You: Simple Salt and Pepper Salmon with Lemon Thyme Rice and Roasted Green Beans « Cook the Story
  4. Permission, Imperfection and Pizza = The Best Baby Gifts of All « Cook the Story
  5. Wake up to a Mediterranean Sandwich (Recipe from the Falcon Lake Deli) « Cook the Story

Leave a Reply

