Blueberry Pancake Oatmeal for the Morning After

On Tuesday night the tornado sirens went off. They made my toddler (J) cry. I bundled him up along with my laptop and cell phone and we hid in the closet.

My husband (G) was on his way home. I hoped his car was nowhere near the storm’s path. I was scared. I’m just not used to the crazy weather here in Florida. (Don’t even mention the H-word).

J and I huddled in the closet and watched monster truck videos on Youtube (his fave is Grave Digger) in between FB checks to see if my nearby friends had news (I trust them more than the weather stations!).

Finally, the sirens stopped and G got home. What a relief.

This morning I peeked out the window at palm trees drooping and tangled like wet dog hair. I made coffee, got J up and made him some hot cocoa. I watched him slurping and thought it would be nice to start this cold (erm…cold-ish) rainy day with blueberry pancakes.

But I didn’t have the energy. We’d stayed up late and J had been up early (and we of course used the excuse of some good storm-watching to break our no-wine-on-weeknights rule).

Instead, I decided to make this oatmeal, which was inspired by blueberry pancakes but doesn’t involve as much standing at the stove.

Sharing this with you today seems fitting in honor of my upcoming guest post on Scary Mommy. Although, Tuesday night I was not so much scary as scared. Today I am just grateful that my family is healthy and happy. This recipe will help keep them that way since it’s a tasty way to get some healthy stuff into everyone’s bellies.

Blueberry Pancake Oatmeal

Serves 6 (I always make enough so we have leftovers for the next morning)

  • 1½ cups quick-cooking steel cut Irish oatmeal*
  • 4 tbsp wheat germ
  • 1½ cups dried blueberries (or blueberry-juice-infused dried cranberries)**
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • ¼ cup maple syrup (plus more for garnish if you’d like)
  • ¼ cup buttermilk (plus more for garnish if you’d like)

Bring 4½ cups water to the boil in a large covered pot over high heat. Add the oatmeal, wheat germ and dried blueberries. Reduce heat to low and stir occasionally for 5-7 minutes (or to desired consistency).

Remove from heat and stir in the maple syrup and buttermilk. Scoop generously into soup bowl.

Drizzle each serving with about a tablespoon of buttermilk and one of maple syrup or put the buttermilk and syrup on the table so your family members can adjust sourness and sweetness for themselves. Today I chose the second option. Big mistake! Sticky fingers, sticky face, sticky shirt…and that was me. You should have seen J!

*You can make this with any kind of oatmeal. Cook according to package directions, adding the dried fruit when you add the oatmeal. Then add buttermilk and syrup. Stir. Serve.

**I prefer using dried berries because I don’t like the weird purply color the oatmeal takes on if you use fresh or frozen. But since blueberry pancakes sometimes have that weird color, you have my blessing to use whatever style blueberry you’ve got. Add frozen berries to the boiling water. Wait until it comes back to the boil before adding the oatmeal. Add fresh ones when the oatmeal has about 3 minutes left of cooking time.

________________________________________________________________

Other posts Scary Mommy series:

What My Husband Hates

What My Husband Hates: Shrimp, Feta and Olive Pasta on a Tangle of Arugula

Find out more about oatmeal and see recipes that also use oatmeal at Foodista:

Oatmeal on FoodistaOatmeal

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by JG on January 27, 2011 - 11:14 am

    When do you put the blueberries in?

    Have never thought of using buttermilk with oatmeal. Will have to try that.

    • #2 by cookthestory on January 27, 2011 - 12:08 pm

      Thanks JG! I’ve fixed the recipe. Nice to know there are friendly eyes looking out for me.

      The dried blueberries go in at the same time as the oatmeal. But see the ** above if you’re using fresh or frozen.

      Let me know what you think of the buttermilk. It adds a nice tang and low-fat creaminess.

      -C

  2. #3 by Katerina on January 28, 2011 - 9:41 am

    Ok, apart from the fact that up until recently we didn’t have scallops we don’t have blueberries either. I know this sucks but the only berries we have are strawberries. Isn’t it awful? I feel sorry for the difficulties the weather creates for you but I am sure with these pancakes you forget everything.

  3. #4 by cookthestory on January 28, 2011 - 2:11 pm

    The weather here in Florida is terrible sometimes but nicer normally. Not sure I could survive in Greece though. Good weather but no scallops or blueberries?

  4. #5 by Dani on January 28, 2011 - 4:16 pm

    We eat oatmeal for breakfast every single day. Will have to see about trying this. Also, apparently today is National Blueberry Pancake Day. 🙂

    • #6 by cookthestory on January 28, 2011 - 5:47 pm

      Really??? I had no idea Blueberry Pancake Day existed. If I’d known I would have posted this today instead of yesterday. I’ll have to think of a great blueberry pancake recipe for next year!

  5. #7 by Kristina on January 28, 2011 - 11:49 pm

    Oooh, that oatmeal looks wonderful. I love cheddar waffles with dried blueberries, and I’ve been seeing a lot of recipes for savory oatmeal lately, so I wonder if a savory oatmeal with dried blueberries, buttermilk and a fried egg on top would be good, or just too much. Maybe I’ll try it one weekend and keep your recipe on hand…if I blow it with the savory nonsense, I know yours will be a winner 🙂

    And that weather is a killer. Here we go from a million degrees to frozen pipes to floods to droughts but no tornadoes or hurricanes. I think I’d lose my mind if I had to worry about that kind of natural disaster coming my way. Wine is a good option. Stay safe!

    • #8 by cookthestory on January 29, 2011 - 7:21 am

      Playing with savoriness would be an awesome idea. What comes to mind for me are bacon and sausages, because they go so well with blueberry pancakes and maple syrup.

      I think I’m going to try cheddar in oatmeal one day this week (without the berries first) and see. I’ve never done that before and I imagine that it could only be good. With buttermilk it might even be reminiscent of a cheddar buttermilk biscuit (but healthier!).

      We moved from Canada to Florida 2 years ago (frozen pipes, we know!). I don’t really miss the snow but the weather here continues to scare me.

  6. #9 by lnmorrow on February 4, 2011 - 7:26 pm

    This oatmeal looks amazing. Do you think I could substitute buttermilk with almond milk?

    • #10 by cookthestory on February 5, 2011 - 7:09 am

      Yes, you definitely could. The original flavored almond milk will lend a nutty flavor. If you use the vanilla flavored (or any other flavor) it might add quite a bit of sweetness. I would therefore wait until after adding the almond milk and tasting the result before adding the syrup.

  1. What My Husband Hates: Shrimp, Feta and Olive Pasta on a Tangle of Arugula « Cook the Story
  2. Make Dinner Wait for You: Simple Salt and Pepper Salmon with Lemon Thyme Rice and Roasted Green Beans « Cook the Story
  3. Permission, Imperfection and Pizza = The Best Baby Gifts of All « Cook the Story

Leave a Reply

