Permission, Imperfection and Pizza = The Best Baby Gifts of All

My toddler is transitioning from crib to bed. Every time he wakes up, he realizes that he’s no longer confined. What does he do? He JUMPS! An excited thunder from bed to floor, from floor to bed and then back again.

His floor also happens to be our bedroom ceiling.

I am so tired.

It’s a miracle I’ve managed to spend his afternoon naps (short naps due to the excitement of thunder-jumping) getting stuff done rather than dozing myself.

My tiredness has a solution: I’m going to take the easy way out for dinner tonight.

It’s o.k., I have permission.

My mom gave me a gift after my son was born. A really special gift. The gift was this simple note enclosed around a twenty dollar bill:

It was the gift of permission. Permission to admit that this week was not perfect. Permission to admit that I am not perfect. (Even permission to admit that my toddler is sometimes a perfect pain.)

And, most importantly, I have permission to let go and order pizza and that is definitely what I’m doing tonight.

I have also taken the note as permission to slack on a blog post. No recipes today. Just pictures of pizza and the imperfect assumption that my mom won’t mind that I’ve posted her note.

Thank the universe it’s Friday! Pizza and no recipe is perfectly alright with me (especially if you throw in a glass of Merlot (or two!)).

Thanks Mom!

Check out the other posts from my Scary Mommy couple of weeks:

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Phyllis on February 4, 2011 - 7:45 am

    That brought a tear to my eye. Your welcome.

  2. #3 by The Mrs on February 4, 2011 - 3:06 pm

    [snorting laughter] Thunder-jumping! It’s the perfect description (we have one of those at our house, although thankfully not above our bedroom.)

    • #4 by cookthestory on February 4, 2011 - 4:27 pm

      Yeah, I think if he just thunder-jumped around the house we would be all proud of his energy and excitement. Today at 5am I went to the bottom of the stairs and yelled, “Stop jumping or Mommy’s gonna come take your soother away.” It worked. He was quiet. But I was wide awake, thus the time for a post *sigh*.

  3. #5 by Mary on February 4, 2011 - 4:14 pm

    I really enjoyed this post and I’d love to meet both you and your mother. I’m new here and spent some time poking through your earlier posts. I really enjoyed my visit and will definitely be back. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

    • #6 by cookthestory on February 4, 2011 - 4:32 pm

      Thank you so much. I do hope you visit again. I went for a quick peek at your blog and got so caught up in the current chocolatey goodness that I almost forgot to come back here! I’m going back to dive in some more now. I hope you have a lovely weekend.

  4. #7 by Katerina on February 4, 2011 - 5:10 pm

    Raising my son is perhaps the most difficult task I have encountered in my entire life. He completely drained and I am afraid continues to drain my stamina and my patience. I totally understand you! Hang in there you are only at the beginning.

    • #8 by cookthestory on February 5, 2011 - 7:15 am

      How old is your son now?

      Drained is a good word to describe how I feel. This morning the jumping started at 5am and would not stop. I am again beyond tired.

  5. #9 by Kristina on February 4, 2011 - 6:11 pm

    What a wonderful mother you have! Is she available to rent?

    • #10 by cookthestory on February 5, 2011 - 7:12 am

      I have a feeling that her rental fees are exorbitant. But worth every penny!

  6. #11 by Liz on February 5, 2011 - 1:15 pm

    Permission to slack is the best permission of all, in my opinion 🙂

    • #12 by cookthestory on February 5, 2011 - 2:19 pm

      It does feel pretty good. To make it even better, today is also a slacking day. Hubs took J to HOme Depot for a little building workshop for kids. I sat around, drank coffee, surfed the net, went to Zumba. A great day.

  7. #13 by Dani on February 5, 2011 - 7:25 pm

    1) Your mom is a treasure, and

    2) Did it really take all the way til your son was a toddler for you to need that twenty bucks? If so, I’m impressed. We ate a lot of takeout in the early years.

    • #14 by cookthestory on February 5, 2011 - 9:23 pm

      Nah, used the twenty bucks in the first week. Kept the note though. It’s come in handy a bunch of times over the years.

  8. #15 by Shannon on February 7, 2011 - 12:24 pm

    Christine, this is a wonderful post. Reading what your mother wrote you when you had Jeremy made me cry. You bet I will be writing that type of note to my daughter, or daughter-in-law when Kyle and I become grandparents. It’s such a needed message – it’s okay to be human and have a bad day. Something we mothers tend to forget.

    • #16 by cookthestory on February 7, 2011 - 2:03 pm

      In the quest for being good moms, we so often forget that we’re human. We need reminding that it’s ok to make mistakes or have a bad day.

      I love the image of you and Kyle as grandparents, btw! I still picture you as 12-year-olds most of the time. It’s always a shock to remember that we’ve all grown up.

      • #17 by Shannon on February 7, 2011 - 2:35 pm

        I know, right? It’s so cliche (imagine the accent on that last “e”… not sure how to change it on this computer… haha), but time really does fly. Since becoming a mother it has gone just that much faster. Sad, in a way… but also refreshing. Life is such a beautiful thing. I’ve learned so much, I can only imagine what kinds of things I have yet to learn.

        • #18 by cookthestory on February 7, 2011 - 2:48 pm

          Cliches (with or without the accent aigus) are fine with me!

  9. #19 by Audrey on February 12, 2011 - 11:58 pm

    That is the best note ever!

Leave a Reply

