1. #1 by Kimberly on March 2, 2011 - 9:41 am

    You so inspired me to want to get my own box. I really want to see what you do with all that. I’ve been scared to join a food coop in my area because I was truly afraid of wasting what I bought. Can’t wait for the series!

    • #2 by cookthestory on March 2, 2011 - 9:50 am

      Thanks Kimberly! I’m really excited about this series too.

      One of the things I love about my coop is that we’re allowed to opt out whenever we want. We’re not committed to buying a box every week. I knew I could try it once or twice and see how it went. If a commitment had been required, I probably wouldn’t have signed up.

      I’ve heard from friends that even some coops that require a commitment will let you try it out once or twice first. Worth calling and asking if you’re worried about it.

  2. #3 by The Mrs on March 2, 2011 - 9:50 am

    Two words: Kale Chips.

    • #4 by cookthestory on March 2, 2011 - 9:58 am

      Really? My kale got hidden in a lasagna. J still refused to eat it. Kale chips might have gone down better. Do you have a recipe?

      • #5 by The Mrs on March 2, 2011 - 10:01 am

        As a matter of fact, I do: Kale Chips at the Stimpson Soup Kitchen

        • #6 by gabriela on March 2, 2011 - 10:17 am

          Kale and chard used to present problems around here too when they were in my organic produce box. And I found myself trying all sorts of things with them. (The kale chips were a BIG fail around here.) But here’s a couple of ways I’ve found to deal with chard and kale… use chard in place of cabbage in borscht. Or sauté some sliced onions and garlic in olive oil, them add either chard or kale to the pan, cover and wilt for a couple of minutes, and finish with a little salt and pepper and fresh parm. Both are delicious, and both my meat-loving husband and two-and-a-half-year-old gobble them up.

          • #7 by cookthestory on March 2, 2011 - 10:43 am

            I really love the idea of using chard in borscht. Brilliant! The garlicky wilted greens topped with parm also sound really delicious. I will definitely give that a try. As far as I can tell, my next box will probably have kale and chard in it. Should be interesting! (They give a list of what they expect to have in the boxes but it’s never for certain until you pick up).

            • #8 by Dani on March 2, 2011 - 2:39 pm

              A great chard recipe that goes over well even with non chard eaters is this gratin:
              http://whipstone.com/blog/2009/bright-lights-chard-gratin/

              Also, another two words aside from kale chips, which we love, are: kale pizza. I don’t know if your son will eat it, but it’s sooo good. This recipe is similar to how I do it: http://whenharrymetsalad.wordpress.com/2009/01/04/not-easy-being-green/

              • #9 by cookthestory on March 2, 2011 - 2:51 pm

                You’re too modest, handing out someone else’s chard gratin recipe when your kale and cabbage gratin is so gorgeous:
                http://www.moderateoven.com/?p=804

                Kale pizza? Interesting! At this point J just picks the toppings off pizza and eats what he likes (just the sausage and the olives). Everything else gets thrown overboard. I have a feeling that kale would go in the same direction but it’s worth a try.

                • #10 by Dani on March 2, 2011 - 6:01 pm

                  Aw, thanks. The kale and cabbage gratin is hearty and definitely good, but more of an every day kind of dish (that is, healthy enough to eat every day) whereas that chard gratin I Iinked is just decadent. It has a roux, and more cheese, and butter, and just… yum.

                  • #11 by cookthestory on March 2, 2011 - 6:53 pm

                    I think I might try them both! I have a feeling that there’s chard AND kale in my next box (that’s what they’re expecting but they never guarantee anything). Can’t wait.

  3. #12 by Dani on March 2, 2011 - 10:24 am

    Love this. I have very fond memories of my first season with my CSA farm, when I figured out how to deal with everything. This will be our sixth year, and I’ve learned so much. Also, I am terribly jealous of all that green produce. And I hate The Map. 🙂

    • #13 by cookthestory on March 2, 2011 - 10:46 am

      The Map is totally my nemesis. J always asks to watch it over and over on the computer ,in addition to seeing it on Dora episodes. *sigh*.

      Six years? Wow! You must have a lot of great advice. I’m taking the newbie approach here. While the hurdles and difficulties are fresh in mind, I’m writing about it. But my tips will probably be nowhere near as useful as yours would be. Any advice you’d like to share would be appreciated.

    • #14 by gabriela on March 2, 2011 - 3:00 pm

      You have me thinking of what I do with my greens… Another little trick is that I add greens (chard, kale, spinach) to smoothies. My “Go To” smoothie is a frozen banana (I always throw ripe bananas cut into three in little baggies into the freezer – Nigella Lawson tip); 1/2 c. each of frozen raspberries, strawberries, blueberries and cranberries; 1 tbsp of honey, 1 c. of yogurt and 1 c. of milk or O.J.; and a big handful of greens. You can’t even taste them, but you’ve just upped the nutritional value of a really yummy smoothie. (Again, my two-and-a-half-year-old asks for seconds!)

      • #15 by cookthestory on March 2, 2011 - 3:31 pm

        Awesome idea! Does it turn the smoothies green? Not that that matters. I bet my toddler would love a green “milkshake”.

        • #16 by gabriela on March 2, 2011 - 3:34 pm

          Nope. It’s still nice and pink from all the fruit. (There are teeny weeny green flecks, but ya gotta look for ’em to see ’em.)

  4. #18 by Geni - Sweet and Crumby on March 2, 2011 - 11:27 am

    I know exactly what you mean about being excited to see what’s in the box. I feel like I am on Chopped. The box always inspires some new recipes and definitely some better eats. Can’t wait to see what you do with yours. Thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting today. It’s so nice to meet new bloggers—Geni

    • #19 by cookthestory on March 2, 2011 - 12:41 pm

      I LOVE Chopped! And you’re right, that is exactly how it feels. Imagining myself as a contestant is going to make opening that box even more exciting next time! Thanks for stopping by.

  5. #20 by cyklopsdesign on March 2, 2011 - 4:28 pm

    I have the same panic every time my CSA is delivered. What will I do with all of this? Then, it turns into a fun game of figuring how to use it all. Looking forward to seeing how you did it.

    • #21 by cookthestory on March 2, 2011 - 6:52 pm

      Happy to know that I’m not alone feeling overwhelmed by it. But you’re right: it does end up being fun!

  6. #22 by lisaiscooking on March 2, 2011 - 4:28 pm

    I have the same panic every time my CSA is delivered. What will I do with all of this? Then, it turns into a fun game of figuring how to use it all. Looking forward to seeing how you did it.

  1. O.K., So You’ve Opened the Box. Now What? « Cook the Story
  2. Ginger, Honey and Lemon: Can You Guess How I’m Feeling? « Cook the Story
  3. Wrapping Up the Box: Empty the Fridge Soup and Frozen Fruit Smash « Cook the Story

Leave a Reply

